Zagreb, April 26-29 2012

Tim Powers

Tim’s web page: The Works of Tim Powers

Tim Powers

Timothy Thomas “Tim” Powers (Buffalo, New York, 1952 ) is an American science fiction and fantasy author.  He studied English Literature at Cal State Fullerton, where he first met James Blaylock and K. W. Jeter, both of whom remained close friends and occasional collaborators. Tim Powers is most widely known as the author of On Stranger Tides, the dark pirate adventure fantasy which was the basis for the latest Pirates of the Carribean series of films, released this year.

However, in the hearts of European readers of alternative history, Powers holds a special place. In novels like Drawing of the Dark and The Stress of Her Regard, he rewrites both the literary and the political history of Europe and offers Europeans their favorite pastime – “what could have been if it had gone that way instead of this way” – in fantastic garb and with accurate historical facts down to the minutest detail to make even a non-history buff’s heart jump with excitement.

Impressive worlds of dark fantasy and page-turner plots, lovable main characters and famous historical figures as their sidekicks, unexpected twists of the ‘big picture’ and mind-tickling, ironic details with which he winks at the reader are a staple of Powers’ work for which he has received a number of awards.


1984  Philip K. Dick Award for the best novel Anubis Gates

1986 Philip K. Dick Award for the best novel Dinner at Deviant’s Palace

1990 Mythopoetic Fantasy Award for the best novel The Stress of Her Regard

1993 World Fantasy Award for the best novel Last Call

1993 Locus Award for the best fantasy novel Last Call

1996 Locus Award for the best Horror / Dark fantasy novel Expiration Date

1998 Locus Award for the best fantasy novel Earthquake Weather

2001 World Fantasy Award for the best novel Declare



  • The Skies Discrowned (1976)
  • An Epitaph in Rust (1976)
  • The Drawing of the Dark (1979)
  • The Anubis Gates (1983)
  • Dinner at Deviant’s Palace (1985)
  • On Stranger Tides (1987),
  • The Stress of Her Regard (1989)
  • Last Call (1992)
  • Expiration Date (1995)
  • Earthquake Weather (1997)
  • Declare (2001)
  • Powers of Two (2004)
  • Three Days to Never (2006)
  • Hide Me Among the Graves (2012)

Short story collections:

  • Night Moves and Other Stories (2000)
  • On Pirates (as William Ashbless; written with James Blaylock) (2001)
  • The Devils in the Details (with James Blaylock) (2003)
  • Strange Itineraries (2005)

Other published work:

  • The Complete Twelve Hours of the Night (1986): Joke pamphlet co-written with James Blaylock, as William Ashbless; features in The Anubis Gates
  • A Short Poem by William Ashbless (1987): Another joke chapbook written by Phil Garland which Tim Powers and James Blaylock went along with.
  • The William Ashbless Memorial Cookbook (2002): A cookbook co-written with James Blaylock.
  • The Bible Repairman (2005): A chapbook containing an original short story.
  • Nine Sonnets by Francis Thomas Marrity (2006): A chapbook containing nine sonnets “written” by one of the main characters in Three Days to Never. Published by Subterranean Press and given away with the collectors’ edition of Three Days To Never.
  • A Soul in a Bottle (2007): A ghost story about a poetess largely based on American poet Edna St Vincent Millay.
  • Three sonnets by Cheyenne Fleming (2007): Printed loose and inserted into the collectors’ edition of A Soul in a Bottle.