Zagreb, April 26-29 2012

Charles Stross

Charlie’s blog: Charlie’s Diary

Charlie Stross

Charles David George “Charlie” Stross (Leeds, 1964) makes part of the new generation of British science fiction writers who specialize in hard science fiction, but his works also span over Lovecraftian horror and fantasy.

Stross’s work has been published since 1987. His talent got quickly recognized – his first novel Singularity Sky, was nominated for the Hugo Award.  His work has also been nominated for a number of other awards, including the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, Arthur C. Clarke Award, Hugo Award as well as the Japanese Seiun Award.  Besides short stories and stand – alone novels he has written several novel- series:  Saturn’s Children series, Eschaton series, The “Bob Howard — Laundry” series, Halting State series and Merchant Princes series.

In addition to working as a writer of fiction he has worked as a technical author (i.e. for the magazine Computer Shopper), freelance journalist, programmer, and pharmacist – Charlie holds degrees in Pharmacy and Computer Science.


2005 Hugo award  for the best novella The Concrete Jungle

2006 Locus Award for best science fiction novel Accelerando

2007 Prometheus Award for the best novel Glasshouse

2007 Locus Award for best novella Missile Gap

2007 Sidewise Award for Alternate History for Merchant Princes, vol. 1-3

2008 The Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (the Skylark)

2010 Hugo Award for the best novella Palimpsest



  • Scratch Monkey (released, 1993; published, 2011)
  • Accelerando (2005)
  • Glasshouse (2006)

Saturn’s Children series:

  • Saturn’s Children (2008)

Eschaton series:

  • Singularity Sky (2003)Iron Sunrise (2004)

The Bob Howard — Laundry series:

  • The Atrocity Archives (2004)
  • The Jennifer Morgue (2006)
  • Down on the Farm (2008)
  • Overtime (2009)
  • The Fuller Memorandum (2010)
  • The Apocalypse Codex (2012)

Halting State series:

  • Halting State (2007)
  • Rule 34 (2011)

Merchant Princes series:

  • The Family Trade (2004)
  • The Hidden Family (2005)
  • The Clan Corporate (2006)
  • The Merchants’ War (2007)
  • The Revolution Business (2009)
  • The Trade of Queens (2010)

Short story collections:

  •  Toast: And Other Rusted Futures (2002)
  • Wireless (2009)


  • The Web Architect’s Handbook (1996)